modes collections management

Documenting collections since 1987


Spectrum is the UK collection management standard

Spectrum gives tried-and-tested advice on the things most museums do when managing their collections. 

Modes Complete is a Spectrum compliant system

This means it has a place for every unit of information you might need to record for any of the 21 Spectrum procedures.

Only systems validated by Collections Trust can call themselves Spectrum compliant.

Modes Compact supports the nine primary procedures

There are nine primary procedures that most museums will use most of the time.

UK museums wanting to meet the requirements of the Accreditation scheme will have to demonstrate that they meet, or have a plan to achieve, the Spectrum standard for the nine primary procedures.

Find out all about Spectrum at Collections Trust